Push Up

Want.

What I want is to be thinner and healthier.  What I want is to get into better shape.  What I need is more discipline and more exercise.
To that end, I have begun following the program set out at One Hundred Push-ups.
The idea behind the site is to give people a guide they can follow to go from a few (0 – 5) push-ups to being able to rock out 100 push-ups over the course of six weeks.  The site provides an initial test, which assigns a skill level, and then lays out a plan for the user.
I took the initial test and the results are, frankly, embarrassing.  It's safe to say that I am firmly in the lowest skill level and that I have a lot of work to do.  But that's the point.
Based on the plan assigned to my level, I will do five sets of only two or three push-ups per set, with up to a minute of rest time between sets, on day one.  Then a day of rest.  Then, on day two there are three or four push-ups per set and ninety second rests.  Then, another day of rest, then the final sets for the week.  The final sets are up to four or five push-ups and rests are up to 120 seconds.
Now, as simple as that sounds, the fact that I can do that is encouraging.  It's simple, shows a clear build up of skill and fitness over time and doesn't tax the body in dangerous ways.  So I'm going to be trying it for the next few weeks and we'll see how it goes.
In the meantime, feel free to check out the site.  If you decide to try it, good luck, and, well, if you don't need it, good for you – maybe you should take a look at Two Hundred Sit-ups?
Tomorrow, my thoughts on the Superbowl.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under 51841

Leave a Reply

