Raiding the Vaults: .45s – Mix Tape 21

Since it’s the holiday season and I’ve had time off, I’ve been going through a few boxes that have been unopened for the past several moves and finding out what’s inside. In today’s box, I found a pile of mixtapes I made by copying my aunt’s 45 RPM record collection with my first stereo system, back when I was in fifth or sixth grade. Here’s the playlist:

Billy Joel – Laura
Billy Joel – Pressure
Genesis – That’s All
Genesis – Don’t Lose My Number
Def Leppard – Photograph
Def Leppard – Rock of Ages
Twisted Sister – We’re Not Gonna Take It
Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams…
Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – You Got Lucky
Soft Cell – Tainted Love
UB40 – Red Red Wine
Moving Pictures – What About Me
Moving Pictures – Joni and The Romeo
The Honeydrippers – Sea of Love
Madness – Our House
Adam Ant – Crackpot History
Adam Ant – Goody Two Shoes
Fire Inc. – Nowhere Fast
Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem – Can You Picture That
Blondie – Heart of Glass
Prince – When Doves Cry
Joan Jett and the Blackhearts – Crimson & Clover
Prince – Purple Rain

A few thoughts: I thought I was really clever for calling the mixtape “point 45” like a gun, even though the 45 in question (RPMs) was a whole number.

This is my aunt’s collection. Bear that in mind if you go looking for the dates of these songs. Then again, I was 10 in 1985 so maybe it’s not so disparate as all that.

I miss vinyl.

I miss making mixtapes. Playlists on my iPod just don’t have quite the same feeling.

Tomorrow, another box, possibly more tapes.


Leave a comment

Filed under 51841

Leave a Reply

