QotD: I Smell Roses

What's your favorite scent? 

Scents, aromas, smells.  I'm fascinated at how my own brain reacts to these stimuli, the way an unbidden and unexpected perfume can trigger specific memories, or evoke a sense of place or time that I cannot consciously place.  I guess I don't know how to answer this question without breaking it into several smaller questions:

What is your favorite scent in products you are going to use on your body?

Lavender.  I love the soothing feeling it can bring forth and as such I use a lavender scented shaving soap as well as aftershave.  Further, I find a small pillow stuffed with lavender extract can help the wheels of my brain slow down enough to sleep.

What is your favorite scent in products you are going to use in your home?

Vanilla and Orange combined.  You know, like for bathroom candles and such.  I find that combination to be pleasant without being overpowering.  Also, it kind of reminds me of ice cream bars my dad use to buy for me after soccer games.

What is your favorite smell in the morning?

Coffee.  Even the smell of it can get my eyes opened up more easily than anything else.

What is your favorite combination of scents from back in the day that, when smelled, knocks you back on your heels, throwing you out of the now into a place securely locked in your memory?

Cigarettes, apple shampoo, obsession perfume. 

What is your favorite scent on your wife?

Chanel No. 5, right after a bath.

What is your favorite food scent – the one that makes your mouth water?

Sweet BBQ sauce and steak on a grill.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under 51841

Leave a Reply

