Soda Poppin’: Blue Hawaii

There's a 7-11 on my way to work.  I usually stop in for a bottle of water or tea, maybe a Coke Zero, but today, well, today was different.

Today, I got my sugar loving hands on a bottle of Blue Hawaii, Pepsi Japan's latest summer soft drink.  The company produces a limited, seasonal flavor each year, focusing on unusual flavors and summery tastes.  Last year was Ice Cucumber which tasted more like a melon soda than a cucumber one; this year's Blue Hawaii is based on the cocktail and features Pineapple and Lemon flavors.

Right on opening the bottle, the pineapple smell came through quite well, almost overwhelming the mildewed smell of my car (don't ask).  The lemon taste, on the other hand, comes through primarily in the aftertaste, with a nice soda-y taste in between.  The only caveat being that it did take me a few swallows to get over the strangeness (read newness or unusualness) and to begin enjoying the taste.  By the time I was a quarter of the way through the bottle I was actively enjoying the flavor, but it did take a few drinks to get there.

Having said all that, I don't think I could enjoy this as a regular drink.  It makes for a nice novelty, but I think that could wear through very quickly.  On the other hand, I think this would make a fantastic cocktail mixer (for either rum or tequila, with a bit of ice and fresh lime) and I may throw a few in long term storage for the next party I have.

Overall, I give it a solid 7 out of 10 bottlecaps, with a bonus lemon wedge for the pretty blue color and the reference to my favorite bad Elvis movie.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under 51841

Leave a Reply

