Legos

Lego Digital Designer.pngLast weekend, my friend’s little boy came around for an afternoon while my friend played rugby. The boy and I played Nintendo for a while (Super Mario Galaxy, MarioKart 64, and Pokemon Snap for those who care) and then we started in on the Legos.

We were soon joined by my friend and the three of us sat and played with the Legos for an hour or so, making spaceships and then blowing up each others ships. The child won, of course, but it’s amazing how much my friend and I enjoy playing Legos with him.

Ok, I’ll say it: I love Legos. I always have and can guess that I always will. They were my favorite toy as a child and, as I related above, I still enjoy tinkering with them.

But I don’t have any. I don’t have kids and my niece and nephew live too far away for me to justify buying tons to keep in my house. More than that, I can never make myself buy any for me. There are just too many other things vying for my paycheck that are (marginally) more important. Like healthcare. And rent.

Enter my find of the week – Lego Digital Designer. The Designer is a piece of software designed by Lego that lets you build, virtually, in the computer, anything you could build in the real world using Lego blocks. Admittedly, the program can not provide the same visceral, tactile thrill of putting things together with your hands, but it’s a good substitute for when there are no blocks available.

So, if you’re like me, a childless thirty-something with no nieces or nephews in close enough proximity to spoil and you have a jones for the toys of your childhood, check out the builder. It’s not the real thing, but it’s close.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attack of the Robot Monsters, Learning From the Master

Leave a Reply

