NaBloPoMo

Following Paxton's lead, I signed up for NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month.  The idea is to get a post up every day during the month.  For myself, and this blog, rather than try to put together a random post every day, I am going to focus on online video – video blogs, professional web series, webisodes, and anything else that happens to catch my attention this month.

I chose online video as a topic because, well, I find it fascinating and because I think it is the clearest example of media integration available at the moment.  Remember a few years ago when all the big media companies began promising us that our t.v.s and computers would combine in the living room, giving us one place to access all our media?  I count it as ten years of promises and lots of mediocre devices to let us watch our media in lots of places.

What is changing now, I feel, is the proliferation of online content with the expanded availability of high speed internet access.  In short, high bandwidth equals easy downloading equals video placed directly online in the first place.  There has been lots of amateur content, some professional content, and, what I am most interested in, a whole lot of content that falls somewhere in between:  Semi-pros with training and low-end equipment, talented amateurs, celebrities with money and time, and every variation on that theme.

So, for this month, while there will be some random posts that I had already been working on, I am going to concentrate on online video.  The series and programs that I watch, with examples and reasons.  I hope you enjoy.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Comment

Filed under 51841

One response to “NaBloPoMo

  1. Good for you! I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

