Vox Hunt: I Want This

Show us a gadget that's on your wish list.

Yeah, I know.

Here's the deal:  I play Nintendo.  I have a Wii and a DS and I love them both.  For the kinds of games I like there are no better systems out there.

However, I love the idea of re-purposing old electronics.  The idea that we must constantly upgrade to new and better gadgets is deeply ingrained in our consumer culture and, to a certain extent, it's true.  My DS is certainly a more versatile machine than its predecessor, the Gameboy.  At the same time, we live in a world where we can not save everything.  Most of us just do not have the space.  Since the Wii can play GameCube games, out it goes.  Likewise for the PlayStation 1 and 2 and for the Xbox.

Recently, I came across this post, and this post on Lifehacker.com.  (An incredible productivity blog that you should be reading.)  The idea behind both posts is taking an old, original version, Xbox and using it, via a few hacks, as a fully functional media center that still plays the old games.

I love that idea.  That you can take an old piece of electronic hardware that is just gathering dust in the closet, or waiting for an eBay bidder to come along and take it off your hands, and turn it into something functional, useful, and by some accounts, better than a branded product from the store.

So now, years after the fact, long after it has been replaced by a newer, shinier version, I want a classic Xbox to fix up and soup up and tinker with.  And, personally, I do not really know what my inner defect is – whether this is a case of wanting to keep up the cool kids, or just wanting a new toy to play with, or just what I said above, the chance to re-purpose a piece of junk.  All I know is that this is the gadget I want most.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under 51841

Leave a Reply

