Requesting, no Demanding

One of the cooler aspects of punk music in the past few years has been a return to the fun of the original aesthetic as represented by bands like the Ramones.  The most visible example has been the embracing of cover versions of classic, and not so classic, songs to be redone in three chord power riffs by punk bands.  Specific examples abound:  NOFX covering Don McClean (Vincent) or Faith No More covering The Commodores (Easy).  For that matter, the band Me First and the Gimme Gimmes is a punk supergroup devoted to nothing but covers.

There are many more examples and I love hearing them.  We have had glimpses over the years of the opposite, of non-punk artists covering punk songs, like Tori Amos' incredible version of Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and Nirvana covering the Meat Puppets acoustically, and I'm ready for more.  I want to hear some of my favorite punk songs on the piano with a slowed time signature and more depth of feeling.

Maybe it's just my age showing, but here is a list of songs I want to hear covered, slowly:

  • Social Distortion's "Story of My Life"
  • Blink 182's "Dammit"
  • Rancid's "Ruby Soho"
  • The Ataris' "San Dimas High School Football Rules"
  • Vandals' "New You"
  • Descendants' "Everything Sucks"
  • Misfits' "Where Eagles Dare"
  • Ramones "53rd and 3rd"

That's a quick list, off the top of my head.  If you know of any bluesy, folksy, acoustic covers of these songs, let me know, would you?

Cheers,

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Comment

Filed under 51841

One response to “Requesting, no Demanding

  1. Mike Ness covers himself on a slow solo acoustic version of "Story of My Life"… I don't think it's on an album, but I saw the video on UTube today.

Leave a Reply

