Searching for Reasons

Several people seem to have followed the move to Tumblr as a single place in which to read all my collected postings and doings around the internet.  However, there have been some complaints as to the dual nature of the posts:  the actual posts and essays vs. the one line tweets and links.  So, I have split them up.

For the time being and until it changes again, posts, essays, articles, and anything else longer than one or two sentences will be cross-posted to smiley.tumblr.com.

All one line bookmarks, song recommendations, tweets, jaikus, and whatever else, will be cross-posted to smiley.jaiku.com.

In the meantime, I have received more than a few queries as to why this blog has yet to be updated with a meaningful post and whatever happened to that whole 25 – 30 thing anyway?

And the answer is, well, two things:  one, I had originally intended to write the stories as close to the truth as possible, only changing names and distinguishing features, and two, I got sidetracked.

The first part is the more easily explainable, if not the easier to understand.  Basically, it became too painful in some cases and too embarrassing in others to write the stories I wanted to write.  There are too many people who would know exactly who and when I was writing about, even with disguises and name changes, and that could be unfortunate for a lot of people, myself included.  In addition, some events I had thought I was well past turned out to be very painful, still, in the act of writing them down.  I found that I had, and have, no desire to post what I have written (which is a fair bit, actually).

I’m not sure what I will do with it all yet, whether it gets re-written into semi-autobiographical fiction, or if I just figure to hell with it all and post it as is.

In the meantime, there is good old excuse number two.  I got sidetracked.  While all this non-blogging was happening, I started working on a novel, longhand, in a notebook.  It is slow going, but going very well.  I think I might actually have some idea of where it is headed…but it has surprised me once or twice already.  Once the longhand draft is finished, I’ll do a proper first draft on the computer and then we’ll see where we’re at.

(I’m using a trick called zero-drafting.  The longhand version is sloppy, uses telling instead of showing, and is all in first person.  The point is to get dialogue and basic plot points down, rather than working on details or nuances.)

So, yeah, that’s that.  Thanks for being patient and don’t worry, there will be stories on this site again, eventually.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attack of the Robot Monsters, Left From Seattle, Toad Web, True Thoughts on True Life

Leave a Reply

