The Rookie

Great Robot Overlords, but I love teh interwebnets.

At the moment, I’m listening to a couple of podiobooks (free audio books in podcast form),  Brave Men Run, by Matthew Wayne Selznick and The Rookie, by Scott Sigler.   They’re both excellent so far and I highly recommend them.

But that’s not what I’m writing about tonight.

What I wanted to write about was the novel (sorry) way that Scott Sigler is promoting his book.  The Rookie is a far-future science fiction story and it’s also a football story.  Yeah.  The story revolves around a young quarterback named Quentin Barnes, who has just been drafted into the equivalent of the major league, called the Galactic Football League in the story.

Again, the story itself is not the point tonight.  Mr. Sigler has built a seperate web page for the GFL and updates it with new stats after each chapter has been uploaded or aired, for lack of a better term.   The site has news stories as well as mascos, logos, and images from each of the teams in the GFL.  He has also had a full line of professional football style  merchandise created for the main team in the story.   As if the above weren’t enough, the author has held post game interviews in Second Life with his avatar guised as the protaganist and Mr. Sigler playing the role for the duration of the meet-up.

All of this strikes me as using the internet’s fullest potential to market a property and I think it’s fantastic that this author is using these tools and opportunities to find new ways to promote himself and his work.  This is the kind of thing that makes my little geek heart gush in so many ways; this is what I hope more authors take upon themselves to do.  This is what I want to do, just as soon as I get my book written.

Leave a comment

Filed under Learning From the Master, Left From Seattle, The Four Eyed Monster

Leave a Reply

