RPG

Yesterday, while I was out photographing and meeting friends, I ended up in the big electronics store that I like to go to.  I had been there first thing in the morning to try to buy a Nintendo Wii and was told that they were sold out.  When I walked back in, later in the day, it was with a friend who was after my advice on some hardware and a new battery for his cell phone.

While my friend was getting his new battery, I wandered around, poking at this or that, checking the occasional price, etc.  I saw a staffer walking towards the games area with a massive cart piled with boxes that read “Nintendo Wii”.  I followed him and managed to be first in line to buy a new Nintendo.

I don’t have a good reason for buying one other than I want it.  I like to try to justify the expense by saying that I have been wanting to buy a first edition of a new console for years and always talk myself out of it, and while that is true, it isn’t really a reason.  The truth is, I wanted something new and shiny, so I got one.

And I like it.  A lot.

The only game I picked up was The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, the latest chapter in one of the oldest RPGs out there.  I played the original Zelda a bit, years ago, but I have never really played computer based RPGs.  After watching M dance through Final Fantasy III DS a few weeks ago, though, I decided I really wanted one.

The trick here, though, is that I’m playing this RPG in Japanese.  For those who have never played an RPG, they require a lot of reading.  There is a story to the game and goals must be accomplished to move the game forward.  The end result is that I’m playing much, much more slowly than I would if the game were in English, but I have managed to add two or three words to my vocabulary already.

Of course, at the moment, right now, as I write this, I’m completely stuck and waiting for M to get home to help me.

Progress, isn’t it grand?

Leave a comment

Filed under Attack of the Robot Monsters

Leave a Reply

