QotD: Such A Klutz

What's the most klutzy thing you've ever done?
Submitted by Jecka.

During a party one night, a friend of mine, who is in much better shape than I am, was kicking the ceiling and I decided that if he could do it, I could too. 

Let me back up.

A friend was hosting a party in her apartment, which was done in traditional Japanese style, replete with low ceilings and tatami mats on the floors.  Several of my friends and I were there, deep into our drinks and engaging in, shall we say, friendly competitions, like arm-wrestling and what-have-you.  One friend declared that he could kick the lowest ceiling beam, which was low enough that he could just walk under it.  I am a bit taller than my friend and could not walk under the beam without ducking.

As I said, my friend is in much better shape, but I am something of a showoff and decided that I would kick the ceiling too.  My mistake, in retrospect, was in forgetting that we were standing on old, worn, slick tatami mats and I was wearing socks.  I took my stance, threw a kick straight up, connected with the beam, and felt my other foot slide out from under me.

I hit the floor hard enough to knock the lamps over in the apartment below my friend's. 

That was the last time I went around trying to kick things that high off the ground. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under 51841

Leave a Reply

