QotD: Heartbreaker

What's your favorite heartbreak song?
Submitted by esta86.

Man, I'm behind on answering these things…

Heartbreak songs – let's see, there's "Tomorrow Wendy" by Concrete Blonde for the line "God got his ass kicked the first time he came down here slumming; He came with thoughts to die and then forgive us, no I don't wonder why, I wonder what he thought it would get us."  And then there's "Chelsea Hotel No. 2" by Leonard Cohen for the final line, "I remember you well at the Chelsea Hotel, that's all, I don't even think of you that often."  Ooh, and there's Lou Reed's "Perfect Day" for irony and the line "Today is such a perfect day, I'm glad I spent it with you."

But my favorite?  Tori Amos' "China", not for a single line but for the full, bitter, sad stroll down the jagged center lane of a broken heart.

"China, all the way to New York, funny how the cracks don't seem to show."

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Comments

Filed under 51841

2 responses to “QotD: Heartbreaker

  1. with regard to the "Tomorrow Wendy" lyrics, were the ones you posted the original?
    I only have one of the live versions from Still In Hollywood and I would swear on a mature, producing Agave cactus that Johnette says, "…He had the balls to come; the gall to die and then forgive us…" which differs from what you posted. Just curious.

  2. I think you're probably right as I wrote them from memory and didn't bother to check on how correct they were. The only other version of the song I have is the original from "Bloodletting".

Leave a Reply

