Baby Silvertooth, Grins and Grins

Remember a few years ago when Madonna and countless others on the very forefront of the pop culture wars chose to have gold or silver caps put on a single front tooth?  It was one of those things that came out of ghetto pride and was quickly adapted and controlled by the “edgy” pop elite?

Well, anyway, I think I’m getting closer.

I had three silver fillings put in today; naturally this has made me cranky and irritable and for the better part of two months now, for those keeping score at home.  I have been thinking about why I chose silver instead of plastic.  I like to think that it’s because silver is stronger and lasts longer, put the truth is, I really think that if I had to have a visible front tooth cappped, I just might put some bling up in here.

And I have no idea why other than I suddenly think it’s cool.

Years ago, when it was the in thing, I thought it was idiotic and yet, now I think it’s cool?  This is what I can not figure.  How and when did this change occur in my thinking?  Is it just that now it’s my turn?  Or have I just always wanted to be an aging pop star?  Or maybe I just want to fit in better, here in the land of the rising bling?

I have no idea.  But if the next time you see me, I have a large silver tooth right out in front, and I’m grinning like a complete fool…just don’t be too surprised.  That’s all.

1 Comment

Filed under Left From Seattle, True Thoughts on True Life

One response to “Baby Silvertooth, Grins and Grins

  1. chris

    *sighs to herself and shakes her head*

Leave a Reply

