Classics

I came home and found my wife watching Casablanca today.

It may not sound like much, but it made me pretty happy. I’ve been picking up a lot of the classics recently, as a company here in Japan has been producing good quality DVDs of a lot of the old black and whites for about ¥500 a pop. So far, I have been able to get Casablanca, Shane, The Big Sleep, Roman Holiday, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, and a few others. And there are more that I’m looking to get.

But my wife, well, she didn’t grow up watching old movies on the tv with her dad. I did. She didn’t take film studies and film history courses in university, but I did. She hasn’t spent time in bars debating the quality of pre-1960 cinema vs. modern Hollywood. Yeah, I have. She doesn’t sit around speaking lines from Casablanca as the characters on the screen say them. Yes, I do.

The point being that she hasn’t really understood why I have been so excited to get these movies. Frankly, I hadn’t really expected her to. But, the fact that she’s trying; that she is watching the movies on her own, trying to enjoy them for what they are, and not just because I’m obsessed with them…well, like I said, it makes me pretty happy.

technorati tags:, , , ,

Blogged with Flock

Leave a comment

Filed under Attack of the Robot Monsters, Brando Said It Best, Left From Seattle

Leave a Reply

