Current Reads

I haven’t done a reading post in a while and I still have to go put in today’s studying, so here is a quick list of what is presently on my radar:

Getting Stoned with Savages by J. Maraten Troost
– Troost’s first book, The Sex Lives of Cannibals was enormously funny and easy and entertaining to read, so when I saw this on the booklist, I immediately ordered it. So far, I’m about fifty pages in, this travelogue does not dissappoint. Troost and his wife take a job offer to live and work in the South Pacific nations of Vanuatu and Fiji and have a baby along the way. The author is one of the best kinds of travel authors, one who can take any situation and make it enjoyable, not to mention redeeming in some cases. In addition, he writes in a very conversational manner, like a friend telling you about the crazy time he had while en route to somewhere else.

Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck – This is the same John Steinbeck who wrote Of Mice and Men and Cannery Row. That Steinbeck. Everytime I open one of his books, I am reminded just how much I love reading his words. As a friend put it, he can make the dust on the ground seem interesting. And in this book, a travelogue, he does just that. In the foreward, Steinbeck says that he wrote the book in an effort to rediscover America and Americans. He had just beenwriting from memory, rather than first-hand experience and he wanted to change that. This is a beautiful book, one that I am enjoying so much that I am pacing myself and reading deliberately slowly so as to savor the writing and pacing as much as possible.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norell (Audiobook) by Susannah Clarke – I put this into the iPod this morning as a break from my usual run of news and podcasts and within minutes, I was completely hooked on this story. I am now an hour in and have found myself driving a longer, slower route, just to give myself more time to listen. I have no idea where the story is going or how it is going to get there, but I am certainly enjoying the ride.

And that’s it, at least for now. A modest three books – a little off my norm for the number being read at any given time, but I cite studying and a slightly heavier than usual workload as the reasons for the slowdown. I’ll certainly keep you posted as more books join the rotation.

technorati tags:, ,

Blogged with Flock

2 Comments

Filed under Left From Seattle, The Four Eyed Monster

2 responses to “Current Reads

  1. potvin29

    As I said before, if you haven’t read “The Pillars of the Earth” by Ken Follett, DO IT.. it’s SO GOOD!

  2. Hey, yeah, I put it on my list. So, uh, one of these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

