A Den-tist! I Want to be a Den-tis!*

Ye gods and small fishes but I do loathe going to the dentist. And doing it in a foreign country in another language only adds to the irksomeness of it all.

I walked in and went through the preliminaries of making sure they understood that I didn’t have any pain in my teeth, it was just that it had been three years since I had been to any dentist and now that I have decent insurance, wanted to get a check-up.

Once through that, we went through the completely painless procedure of getting X-rays. No more biting on the cardboard depressors, now an ultrasound machine does a full 360 degree scan while you bite down on a specialized mouthpiece.

Of course, that’s the easy part. After that there was the ever-present team (no individual does anything in Japan, a team is required to do everything) who took turns checking, re-checking, scraping, polishing, re-checking, showing me with a hand-mirror, explaining exactly what was wrong, conferring with each other to affirm what was wrong with my teeth, double-checking with me to make sure there wasn’t any pain, etc. etc.

And today was just the bottom teeth.

My appointment to have the top teeth cleaned is in three weeks and my appointments (yes, plural) to have each cavity (there are six) filled, individually, are all in October.

It’s looking like a fun fall already.

*If you didn’t pick up on the title, go watch “Little Shop of Horrors” again.

technorati tags:, , ,

Blogged with Flock

1 Comment

Filed under Left From Seattle, True Thoughts on True Life

One response to “A Den-tist! I Want to be a Den-tis!*

  1. potvin29

    Hey man, totally off topic. Just wondering if you have ever read the novel “The Pillars of the Earth”? I’m reading it now and it’s great. It seems like a book that you would like.

Leave a Reply

