The DVD Habit, Part II

This is part two of a post talking about the new DVD formats, HD-DVD and Blu-Ray DVD, and a few reasons why I think they are completely unnecessary.

The main reason I do not think the new formats will take off, at least with me, is that I do not buy that many DVDs anymore.  I like to think I am pretty typical in that when I first got a DVD player, I bought one or two DVDs per week.  Now that number is down to one every other month or two.

There are a few reasons for this.  The first, and most important, is that I get most of my DVDs from my Mom who picks up seasons of TV shows that I do not have access to and sends them to me.  (Here is where I will completely reverse my stance on this:  if the content manufacturers begin making whole seasons available on a single disc, I may have to re-consider the whole thing.)  Which is great and proves that my mom is cooler than your mom.  However, as many TV shows are beginning to be available via legal downloads on iTunes and new services supported by the networks, Mom is going to be able to avoid the costs involved in buying and shipping DVDs in favor of making me buy my own damned TV shows.  And the point there, is that why buy a disc at all, when I can buy from a download service, which keeps files on everything I have purchased in case of computer crash or a lack of hard drive space?

A related point, is the rise of services like NetFlix.  Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I will say that I have not had the opportunity to try NetFlix as they are not yet available in Japan.  However, as I have heard nothing but positive reviews, I plan to try the service as soon as it is.

NetFlix, for those who do not know, is an online DVD rental service.  A user puts the movies he or she would like to see into his or her queue and the DVD is sent when it becomes available.  Once watched, the DVD is returned and the next available DVD from the queue is sent.  Many of my friends in the States use this service and all have reported that their DVD buying habit is down because there are so many more DVDs to choose from via the service that there seems to be little point in buying when it is so easy to rent.  TV shows are availabe from NetFlix as well, which relates to the earlier point, why buy the discs when there are cheaper options?

I’ll finish this post by saying that I could be completely wrong about all of this, and I could change my mind just by reading the right news story, but, at this time, I just do not see why I, or anyone I know would need to spend the money on a next generation DVD system when their are so many other options to choose from.

technorati tags:, , ,

Blogged with Flock

Leave a comment

Filed under Attack of the Robot Monsters, Left From Seattle, True Thoughts on True Life

Leave a Reply

