QotD: Back where I’m from…

Soda? Cola? Pop? What do you say? Any other regional words that set you apart?
Question submitted by Gladys.

Generally, I use the word cola to describe a particular flavor and soda to describe a carbonated beverage.  I do remember one mildly funny anecdote where I was at a snack bar at some local sports event or pool or something and the buy behind the counter was being "clever", that is, he was insulting the customers with a smile on his face as if this made it ok.  You know the kind of jokes, "Soda?  Don't really need to that spare tire there do ya'?"  So, when I get to the front of the line and he asks me "So, what kind of soda do you want there, big guy?", I answered, straight-faced, "Pop".  He stood there for a few seconds trying to think of a clever reply before I let him off the hook and said "Coke". 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under 51841

Leave a Reply

