Incesticide

It’s amazing how some things just get stuck in one’s head. Well, not stuck. More like put away in the mental equivalent of a kitchen drawer and forgotten about. For years even.

I came up against this today when trying to explain the word insecticide to my students. We had been discussing a news story about farming and it came up. I wrote the word on the board and then went on to use it in a sentence. However, in my sentence I ended up using the word incesticide.

For those of you not in the know, Incesticide was the name of a Nirvana album that came out when I was in high school. It stayed in my CD player for the better part of two years.

So, all I can imagine is that, somewhere, in the cluttered junk room of my mind, a common word that I almost never use and a made-up word that I used constantly for the better part of my high school days got cross-wired.

Just thought that was interesing. That is all.

technorati tags:, , ,

Blogged with Flock

Leave a comment

Filed under Left From Seattle, Punk Rock Saved My Life, The Language We Speak

Leave a Reply

