Serialized

I keep a shelf in my bedroom with all the books I own that I haven't actually gotten around to reading just yet.  At the moment, there are seven books with bookmarks in them and another dozen or so that I haven't started reading yet.

Usually, when I get new books, they just go to the back of the queue and I'll get to them when I get to them.  However, yesterday, when I got the second book of Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files, Fool Moon, I jumped it straight to the front of the line and read it in one sitting.

Man that feels great.

I've been reading science fiction and fantasy since I was a child.  I remember reading some of Heinlein's young adult novels when I was seven or eight and devouring every Bradbury novel our city library had.  By the time I got to high school, I was fully enthralled by the different series I could find.  The Garett Files by Glen Cook, and the Taltos novels by Steven Brust were two of my favorites, and they're still ongoing, but slowly as the authors have written in several other worlds and novels over the years.

But I hadn't really grokked a new series since I was in college, all those many moons ago, and I had almost forgotten how exciting it can be to get a new book in one of those favored series.  So, to find a new series has just been, well, more exciting than any non-bookworms can really ever know.  

Let's be honest, the level of internal resonance that a good book series can produce, compared to other media just isn't even in the same league.  Even Bond was a character in a novel well before he was a movie star.

If you're a fan of the P.I. and fantasy genres, I recommend the Harry Dresden novels wholeheartedly.  So much so, that I'm going to wrap this up so that I can go order the next for myself.  

Leave a comment

Filed under The Four Eyed Monster, True Thoughts on True Life

Leave a Reply

