A Day Off

For the past few weeks, I've been Getting Things Done.  Imagine that the italics in the previous sentece represent the Voice of God, as it does in so many B-grade comedies.  Now, read it again.  Right.  

So, I've been following bits and pieces from different systems and ideas, but, by and large, I look to 43 Folders and Lifehacker as my gurus / purveyors of GTD.  One of the most successful ideas that I have taken from the sites and implemented in my own life is that of breaking each task down into micro-tasks that can be done quickly and easily.  By doing so, much more visable progress is made and one can feel much more productive.  For example, rather than have, say, "Organize Photos" on my To Do list, (which is a monumental and overwhelming task, as I have well over three thousand assorted negatives, slides, and loose photos), I have broken this down into an outline:

I.  Slides
    A.  Scan slides of (subject/event)
        1.  Label physical slides
        2.  Name digital files to match slides         
        3.  Burn files to disc.        
        4.  Transfer slides to storage box.        
        5.  Label Box.        
        6.  Label CD/DVD        
        7.  Place box and CD into storage.
   B.  Scan slides of (subject/event)
 

Etc. 

While it may seem a little cumbersome at first, it has helped me get a lot done on this particular project and has left me feeling like I haven't been just wasting time on a futile attempt at something.

But not today.  I took today off and caught up on some reading and listening and watching of books and podcasts and movies.  The film I watched today was Walk the Line, and I was pretty impressed.  I think Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon did phenomenal jobs as John and June Cash, especially as I had read on IMDB that they had done all their own singing for the movie. 

I'll admit that part of the appeal of the movie for me may have been that I've been a Johnny Cash fan since I was a child, listening to "Ring of Fire" on eight-track in my Dad's truck and trying to sing along, in the deepest voice I could muster, but part of it must be that the film was just well done.  It wasn't perfect, but it was a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

Anyway.

I made a lot of progress with some personal projects this week and felt like I deserved a day off to do not a lot of anything really.  That's all. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Brando Said It Best

Leave a Reply

