iTunes

I blew off Saturday and Sunday this weekend and just watched Battlestar Galactica.  Fantastic show.  Love it.  Great stuff.

But that’s not what I want to write about.  What I want to talk about is iTunes.

I bought the BG miniseries off of iTunes for about $15 US and really enjoyed it.  But.  I’m a little dissapointed in iTunes.  I mean, I don’t have a video iPod, nor do I wish to spend the money to get one.  At least, not right now while my music only iPod is still working just fine.  So I downloaded the shows from iTunes to watch on my computer and the quality wasn’t really what I had been expecting.

Here’s the thing.  I can use torrent files and get the episodes for free at much better resolution but I’m trying to be good.  My whole argument for using torrents was that I had no legitimate way to get the content that I wanted.  BG airs on Sci-Fi channel in the States and I don’t have Sci-Fi.  Now the show is available on DVD but that presents a whole other set of problems, like region coding and shipping costs that total more than the costs of the DVD sets.  So, along comes iTunes and says, “Hey, you can buy them from us, no problem!”

And there it is.  My most easily accessible, legitimate purchasing option leaves me with (comparitively) poor quality and no options for storing them anywhere other than my hard drive.  My alternative choices are to buy the DVDs and spend too much for shipping, or steal the content of the shows via torrent files and protocols.

This stuff is all new and there are a lot of bugs to be worked out of the system, but, what it comes down to, right now, is that I don’t want to purchase the files from iTunes because the quality is not as good as what I can download for free.  I think iTunes needs to address the file size / quality issue before they go much further in their explorations of a digital marketplace and I hope companies like Google and Amazon pay attention so that they don’t make the same mistakes with their content.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attack of the Robot Monsters

Leave a Reply

