N’Orleans – First Object

Originally uploaded by SunToad.

Quick post today.

I decided to start the painting by putting in the flat base coat for the bead necklace. I used a gold oil stick to draw directly onto the canvas, where it mixed with the white base coat I had put down over the entire canvas, making a kind of dull peach color that should work well as I add cover colors and blends.

I started out trying to draw the circles around bottle caps of various sizes and gave up after one or two and just free-handed the rest.

As much as I like the oil sticks, I think I might have to shell out the cash for proper gold paint (it’s near 1000Y for a small tube as opposed to about 200Y for a regular color) and actually brush it on over the base coats, but we’ll see.

More tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Colors Thrown At Canvas

Leave a Reply

