Year End Post

A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I were puttering about the apartment. She was cleaning and I was checking my e-mail. I stood up from the couch and walked over to her, in the kitchen, massaging my lower back while I walked.

She looked up at me and asked, in Japanese, if I was ok.

I answered, “Kotoshi ga itai.”

She laughed and said “You mean koshi?”

“Whoops,” I said, laughing as I realized my mistake. By using the word “kotoshi” instead of “koshi” I had said “this year hurts” instead of “my back hurts”. I started to walk out of the kitchen, still chuckling to myself when another thought hit me.

I walked back into the kitchen, “Actually I think I meant ‘kotoshi’.” M looked a question at me. “I had to get my driver’s license, I changed jobs, we moved, I turned 30, we got married. Yeah, kotoshi ga itai.”

I walked back to the couch, listening to M laugh to herself, “Kotoshi ga itai. Dork.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

