Too Much and Then Some

The Internet is far too big to see and interact completely with everything one comes across while browsing. The inevitable result is that you miss some memes while over-indulging in others.

My own personal taste is for the social networks, like Flickr and 43 Places but there’s all kinds of other stuff out there. Videos, songs, mash-ups, sites (of course), animations, jokes, parodies, etc. etc. etc.

I stumbled across this site today: Greatest Internet Moments and found it interesting, not because there was a lot that I’d heard about or experienced but because there was so much that I, a hardcore web junky for several years now, had not come across.

So, here are some links, pulled from the list, of things I’d like to try, when I get some more free time:

Sissy Fight – I don’t know what the hell this is but it looks interesting, to put it mildly.

E-Sheep – I’d actually heard of this site, way back when but had never really had a chance to read it. When I checked it today, it became apparent that they have much more content than I’d realized, content that looks quite intriguing.

RAM – This is the kind of site that I love. Anonymous diary style writing of one’s memories and thoughts. Reminds me a little bit of Post Secret.

So. All these things have gone into the “Memes I’d Like to Try” in my Bookmarks file (right next to “Things to Read Up On, Soon” and “New Services I’m Thinking About Trying”).

I’ll be very curious to see how new browsers like Flock handle all these kinds of things. I like how they use Favorites, determined by Del.icio.us as opposed to Bookmarks but I’m wondering if they’ll be able to keep up with the rapidity of new social networks and maintain their interoperability.

As a side note, I should add that I’m quite looking forward to a more stable version of Flock. I installed it on my PC and was quite entranced but found that the program crashed so often that I was better off without it. Oh well.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled program.

(Final Note: I wrote the beginnings of this post yesterday and finished today, so I’m using Saturday’s date to stamp the entry. Just so it all looks nice and pretty in the archives. It’s my blog, I can do that.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Left From Seattle

Leave a Reply

